Perfect Mom? Not I

I know I am not the only mom that has compared myself to other, sometimes I find myself saying this mom has it all together her kids are well behavior, her house is clean, and she has a very loving and supportive husband. If you know me, you know how these past 4 years have been full of emotions from losing my husband at the age of 29 becoming a single mom to two of the greatest gifts God has giving me. Bryson was 2 at the time and Braylon was 1 week and 5 days old, my world was turned upside down without a clue as to what was my next move in life. Well going back to this thing we call motherhood, what in the world am I do? Am I developing young boys that will grow up to be Godly men? Am I raising young boys that will grow up to know how to respect and take care of a women? Am I to soft on them? (Because Lord knows I am not a tough person and sometimes they get away with stuff because being a single that don’t even have the option of calling their dad to help out and him having to choice as to if he wants to of not, has a lot on my plate and it is so easy to overlook things). My house never stays clean, am I lazy or just overwhelmed? Yes, when Chris passed away my parents up and moved from Georgia to Texas to help me out with the boys and I am forever grateful that we have my parents living with us. Am I teaching young boys the importance of education if I am not fully there to help Bryson with his homework? Am I teaching Braylon how to channel his frustration and angry by getting frustrated back at him?

For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well. Psalms 139:13-14

I have come to realized that many moms are questioning their job as a mom and we tend to allow our fear of something and the expectations to paralyze us, which in return will isolate and disconnect us from the reality that we may not be perfect moms but our kids look at us as the best moms in the world, so what more could you ask for? So I challenge every mom that takes the time to read this start taking baby steps to realizing that no one moms life is better or worse then yours and so what is your house is dirty and you may feel overwhelmed but remember the joys of being a mom and that will out weight all these unrealistic expections we have for ourselves.

2 thoughts on “Perfect Mom? Not I

Leave a comment